I refuse to apologize!

Recently, while greeting at the best church in the world I had someone say a comment that really got me thinking. First and foremost, one of the main reasons (with exception to putting God first in EVERYTHING and experiencing and witnessing life change EVERY WEEK ) is that everything that is done is done with excellence. The church should not be sub par with anything. Serving God is a privilege and should be taken seriously.

At Elevation, serving with excellence comes with a cost, but not as costly as by not serving with excellence. Some of us volunteers enjoy clapping and yelling at the top of our lungs as people are coming into church. Throughout my experience in guest services of close to 2 years I have realized that there will be times when some people will not like certain things. (go figure, someone not liking something in a church??? Ha) Today this lady mentioned that she “did not know if she likes this”, pertaining to her being greeted while coming into church. Ma’am, I have one thing to say about that.  I refuse to apologize for honoring you and being excited about each and every person who walks through the doors every Sunday. God has reiterated to me that the reason for me being so passionate about this is because I am a witness. My life is a testimony of change, God change. The only true change that will ever be satisfying. I have had my life changed by God  through Elevation church. I see lives changed every week.

There is simply no better way to be served than to serve. There are a lot of churches in this city and if someone does not like to be honored with sincere love and appreciation then I am sure there are tons of other places they can go walk into and sit in the back and never talk to anyone, live their life without impact, work, retire and then lose it all. There is room where you can go and argue about the color of the picture frames and how thin the toilet paper is. As for Elevation, we will not step where the world has taken the church. There is too much to do. There are too many lives that so desperately need the hand of God. 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy on October 12, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Don’t worry, next time I greet I will bring pom-poms! 😉

    If there is one thing I’ve learned through Elevation, it’s that there are times when you will be uncomfortable. Thank the Lord for that, because that just means He’s moving in your life. There is always a purpose though. Maybe some of the people that don’t like the “clapping” are uncomfortable for other reasons, and they are scared of making a change. Don’t ever stop doing what you do! SUPER GREETER!!!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment